Morristown Planning Board

The Morristown Planning Board consists of nine (9) members, and two (2) alternate members. All members are to be appointed by the Mayor, except the Class III Member who will be a member of the governing body, to be appointed by the same.

The Morristown Planning Board is authorized to adopt bylaws governing its procedural operation. It shall also have the powers and duties to make, adopt and from time to time amend a Master Plan for the physical development of the Town, including any areas outside its boundaries which in the Board’s judgment bear essential relation to the planning of the Town, in accordance with the provisions of N.J.S.A. 40:55D-28.

The board may also administer the provisions of the Land Subdivision Regulations and Site Plan Review Regulations of the Town, which include applications to the Planning Board for new developement projects, redevelopment projects, major or minor site plans, major or minor subdivisions, which may or may not include dimensional variances, facade, alterations to residential or commercial buildings, which include change in facade materials, lighting or signage. The Board may also participate in the preparation and review of programs or plans required by state or federal law or regulations. It may also and assemble data on a continuing basis as part of a continuous planning process and annually prepare a program of municipal capital improvement projects projected over a term of six (6) years, and amendments thereto, and recommend same to the governing body.

The board will also consider and make report to the governing body within thirty-five (35) days after referral as to any proposed development regulation submitted to it pursuant to the provisions of N.J.S.A. 40-55D-26(a), and also pass upon other materials specifically referred to the Planning Board by the governing body pursuant to the provisions of N.J.S.A. 40:55D-26(b). The Board also performs such other advisory duties as are assigned to it by ordinance or resolution of the governing body for the aid and assistance of the governing body or other agencies or officers.

The Morristown Planning Board consists of nine (9)members appointed by the Mayor, including the Mayor to serve four (4) year terms and two (2) alternates who serve two (2) year terms. Within 18 months of appointment, a mandatory course from the Planning Officials Association must be completed.

Click links below to view the Presentations by the Town Planners on Introduction to Form Based Code:


Click here to view the Presentation by Town Planners on Epstein's Rehabilitation Plan, Master Plan Consistency Presentation